stock 0470 continental hrspower

Aircraft powered airboat discussion.
fishslayer
Southern Airboat Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2010 8:49 pm

stock 0470 continental hrspower

Postby fishslayer » Mon May 10, 2010 8:18 pm

I have a stock 0470 continental GPU dies anyone have a idea how much horsepower this motor has

User avatar
SouthRiver
Site Supporter - II
Site Supporter - II
Posts: 582
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2008 6:26 pm
Location: Grant-Valkaria
Contact:

Re: stock 0470 continental hrspower

Postby SouthRiver » Mon May 10, 2010 8:30 pm

I am sure that this will get answered pretty quickly, but I think that a stcok GPU is actually about 180 hp.
"It is what it is......and...... "Everything happens for a reason, whether you like it or not......."
New boat is in the works..............
BCAA Member
N.R.A. Lifetime Member

billybob
Southern Airboat Member
Posts: 1424
Joined: Wed Nov 25, 2009 7:34 pm
Location: Lake Alfred, Fl.

Re: stock 0470 continental hrspower

Postby billybob » Mon May 10, 2010 9:14 pm

220?
I do all my own stunts!!!!!!

User avatar
Bruce
Site Supporter - IV
Site Supporter - IV
Posts: 4793
Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2007 9:43 pm
Location: orange county fl
Contact:

Re: stock 0470 continental hrspower

Postby Bruce » Mon May 10, 2010 9:41 pm

between 175 and 185 at 2450rpm ive read tags that said both but the old times said at 3000 they were 220 so who knows
12 foot Mamba "The Underdog"
Tired Gpu 520,Whirlwind Razor X

PJC
Southern Airboat Member
Posts: 322
Joined: Mon May 05, 2008 3:49 am

Re: stock 0470 continental hrspower

Postby PJC » Mon May 10, 2010 10:34 pm

If they are fresh 220 if they are wore out I've seen a 180 spin the same prop

gpu rick
Southern Airboat Member
Posts: 136
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2006 9:59 am
Location: ocala
Contact:

Re: stock 0470 continental hrspower

Postby gpu rick » Mon May 10, 2010 10:55 pm

per the manual at 2900rpm net brake horse power of 205 hp, based on ambient temperatures of 60 degree F.

User avatar
Southern Style
Site Supporter - IV
Site Supporter - IV
Posts: 5239
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2008 3:34 pm
Location: Sarno marsh

Re: stock 0470 continental hrspower

Postby Southern Style » Tue May 11, 2010 8:38 am

I am confused.. Please help... Thread titled "Stock 0-470 Continental Horse Power"... I have a Continental 0-470-R and it is 230 horse... Now, he said "STOCK 0-470 GPU"... Isn't a GPU a Ground Power Unit and that is a 220? If it is, then the 0-470 is not stock... it is a modified 220 with 0-470 jugs... Am not trying to be technical, but just wondering if there is a 0-470 GPU that is stock... Thought ALL GPU's were continental 220's...
DONT ARGUE WITH STUPIDITY...THEY WILL JUST DRAG YOU DOWN TO THEIR LEVEL, AND BEAT YOU WITH EXPERIENCE.....
KRVSA Member
SJRAA Member
KCCO

bmg
Southern Airboat Member
Posts: 277
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 9:12 am
Location: Merritt Island/Cocoa
Contact:

Re: stock 0470 continental hrspower

Postby bmg » Tue May 11, 2010 9:06 am

Your over analyzin. A gpu is still 470ci Like an aircraft 0470 except that it is totally different lol. single mag different grade materials, pistons and on and on. A stock 220 or gpu is supposidly 220 hp at 3000 rpms or so it is said to be, these motors were made for generators to run around 2400 rpms constantly. I would guess by the prop I am turning and the pitch I can run my hp is 200 or a little better. Some people have higher compression pistons (dome topped instead of a cup) in their gpu's from a/c 0470 which gives you a little more. As far as a stock 180 turning the same prop... I doubt it unless its a tired 220 which most are :lol:

User avatar
Southern Style
Site Supporter - IV
Site Supporter - IV
Posts: 5239
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2008 3:34 pm
Location: Sarno marsh

Re: stock 0470 continental hrspower

Postby Southern Style » Tue May 11, 2010 10:29 am

Gotcha... He just threw me at "Stock 0-470 GPU"... GPU's are 220's for generators and then modified to a 0-470... I am with you now.... Thanks for the info............
DONT ARGUE WITH STUPIDITY...THEY WILL JUST DRAG YOU DOWN TO THEIR LEVEL, AND BEAT YOU WITH EXPERIENCE.....
KRVSA Member
SJRAA Member
KCCO

fishslayer
Southern Airboat Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2010 8:49 pm

Re: stock 0470 continental hrspower

Postby fishslayer » Tue May 11, 2010 7:14 pm

THANKS FOR THE HELP: I HAD A AIR CRAFT MECHANIC SAY THAT IT HAD APPROXIMATELY 300hp THIS IS MY FIRST AIRCRAFT MOTOR >>>> DOES ADDING AN ADITIONAL MAG GIVE IT ANYMORE HOSPOWER AND IS IT COMMON FOR GPU UNITS TO LEAK A LITTLE OIL....

flyin blind
Southern Airboat Member
Posts: 392
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2007 9:21 pm
Location: mcallen texas

Re: stock 0470 continental hrspower

Postby flyin blind » Tue May 11, 2010 9:49 pm

there like a detroit diesel if they dont leak they are out of oil
old school is what got us here today . the most important six inches on a battlefield is between your ears!!!! mad dog mattis

User avatar
Southern Style
Site Supporter - IV
Site Supporter - IV
Posts: 5239
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2008 3:34 pm
Location: Sarno marsh

Re: stock 0470 continental hrspower

Postby Southern Style » Wed May 12, 2010 9:21 am

flyin blind wrote:there like a detroit diesel if they dont leak they are out of oil


I have heard that for years, If it aint seeping (not leaking) oil, then you might want to check the oil level... :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
DONT ARGUE WITH STUPIDITY...THEY WILL JUST DRAG YOU DOWN TO THEIR LEVEL, AND BEAT YOU WITH EXPERIENCE.....
KRVSA Member
SJRAA Member
KCCO

bmg
Southern Airboat Member
Posts: 277
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 9:12 am
Location: Merritt Island/Cocoa
Contact:

Re: stock 0470 continental hrspower

Postby bmg » Wed May 12, 2010 11:34 am

Adding a mag may add more power in the right application. Hotter spark can't be bad :P . I would think that the most gain for adding a mag would be to also add more fuel to the equation meaning different carb or bigger jets. Rememeber you would have to change jugs or get them machined for the second spark plug hole. They all leak oil. I would love to see a gpu that doesnt. I love my ground pounder but I eventually will get a straight valve 540 when I save some money. Which may never happen.

gpu rick
Southern Airboat Member
Posts: 136
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2006 9:59 am
Location: ocala
Contact:

Re: stock 0470 continental hrspower

Postby gpu rick » Wed May 12, 2010 1:45 pm

Adding a second magneto with make 100 rpm difference. Also they dont all leak.
Attachments
my gpu 5.JPG
my gpu 5.JPG (229.52 KiB) Viewed 3658 times

CypressHunter
Southern Airboat Member
Posts: 275
Joined: Thu Mar 18, 2010 6:32 pm
Location: Melbourne, FL

Re: stock 0470 continental hrspower

Postby CypressHunter » Wed May 12, 2010 2:12 pm

fishslayer wrote:THANKS FOR THE HELP: I HAD A AIR CRAFT MECHANIC SAY THAT IT HAD APPROXIMATELY 300hp THIS IS MY FIRST AIRCRAFT MOTOR >>>> DOES ADDING AN ADITIONAL MAG GIVE IT ANYMORE HOSPOWER AND IS IT COMMON FOR GPU UNITS TO LEAK A LITTLE OIL....


YES!!!!
13' 6'' Cotton Mouth 220 GPU 70'' signature series

User avatar
MYDIXIEWRECKED
Site Supporter - IV
Site Supporter - IV
Posts: 3634
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 7:48 am
Location: Plantation,fl Area 3A south camp 9 1/2

Re: stock 0470 continental hrspower

Postby MYDIXIEWRECKED » Wed May 12, 2010 2:17 pm

flyin blind wrote:there like a detroit diesel if they dont leak they are out of oil


Just don't take a picture of a GPU or a detroit diesel and put it on your wall in your house if you don't want oil stains on you floor! :lol: They all leak even the pictures!
THOUGHT FOR THE DAY
"People sleep peaceably in their beds only because rough men stand ready to do violence ON THEIR BEHALF"

Lifetime member NRA
Owner camp 9 1/2 in beautiful 3A south, Everglades


Return to “Aircraft Power Only”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests