Alternative hulls for airboats

Longest running airboat discussion on the internet.
mjl4911
Southern Airboat Member

Alternative hulls for airboats

Post by mjl4911 »

Hey there I’m fairly new to air boating and live in the Carolinas. Due to the amount of saltwater up here and the sometimes rough water conditions I feel that the typical fiberglass airboat hill just isn’t cutting it. Has anyone ever experimented with mounting to a heavier flat bottom skiff type hull and if so what we’re the results? Any alternative ideas are appreciated.

Rick McC.
Southern Airboat Member

Re: Alternative hulls for airboats

Post by Rick McC. »

I run mine in deep and shallow saltwater all the time.
3FC8FBCE-10FA-4AC1-B87D-3CE3D7E30AC8.jpeg
"Sights are for the unenlightened."
Rick
http://guntipsandtalk.com

SWAMPHUNTER45
Site Supporter - III
Site Supporter - III

Post by SWAMPHUNTER45 »

We run the Gulf as well, you just need to be weather conscious. If your wanting to make crossings of open water with 3ft seas an airboat is not going to be the tool.

The Texas boys run a lot of open area they use big hulls and a deck over design would really add to the safety factor.

Over the years I have seen everything from Jon boats to a big center console rigged out with air prop power. None ever perform as well as a good airboat hull.

Hope it helps

kwanjangnihm
Site Supporter - IV
Site Supporter - IV

Post by kwanjangnihm »

good advice from Rick & Swamp - us AC guys are not into the alternative stuff :lol:
He'll cut your throat, baby, stick you in the back, drive off in your Cadillac.
He's more trouble than you think, he'll kill your sugar, leave you in the drink.

Slidin Gator
Site Supporter - IV
Site Supporter - IV

Post by Slidin Gator »

Airboats are banned East of the Fresh/Saltwater line in S. Carolina, so this only applies to N. Carolina in general.